Good plant, bad plant.

25 May

When the Drama Queen and I took our little stroll through the bush on Sunday I made a decision to ensure that we only use bush friendly plants in my design for our garden.  We live so close to one of the last remnants of Sydney Turpentine-Ironbark Forest, we have an impact on the environment we live in, and I don’t want our impact to be a negative one.

The drama queen communig with nature

It is always heartbreaking for me to see weeds choking out our native bushland.  There is so little remnant bushland left in Sydney we need to be doing our best to maintain it.  For me, this is a purely selfish thing.  I love to escape from civilization, listen to the birds and watch the wildflowers.  It re-energizes me and clears the mind clutter.  Going for a bushwalk is the most enjoyable form of exercise I can think of.  Even with a 3 year old in tow there is something very calming about being surrounded by nature.

Globally, I feel we need to maintain our biodiversity.  We need to ensure we are responsible global citizens and respect and protect our environment, not only for us and our future, but also for those who can’t protect themselves.  Hmmm… might be getting a little bit preachy there, sorry but passion can sometimes get the better of me!

When I was growing up it was really impportant for my Dad to teach us to respect and enjoy the environment, and this is a lesson I’m trying to teach the Drama Queen, and will also try and instill in the Daredevil.  The Drama Queen and I started playing a game of “Good plant, bad plant” on our bushwalk.

Good Plant - a tribe of big bad banksia men

Bad plant - Lantana, so pretty, but so very very bad!


Good plant - Pimelea

And there's so much bad going on in this photo!

The Drama Queen loved spotting new wildflowers, I can’t wait for spring to hit, and see what the bushland has to show us.  I’m sure we’ll be spinning stories about fairies and bushland creatures.  Note to self, I’ll have to remember to read her Snugglepot and Cuddlepie this winter.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not a natives at all cost kind of girl.  There are so many different options out there in the plant world, and I have the philosophy of the right plant in the right place, this could mean Azaleas and Agapanthus or Banksias and Boronias. All I’m saying is, just keep in mind that what you plant today could cause a problem somewhere else tomorrow.

But at the end of the day, green is better than grey!

Sam

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 213 other followers

