The art of slow

4 Jul

The Drama Queen taking it slow

I read a blog post by Melbourne Mumma on Saturday morning.  It was about how she much prefers to lead a slow paced life despite how we’re expected to be on call and in touch every minute of every day.  And it was about how she’s torn between the desire to live simply and her innate need to strive and achieve.  I related to her summary of the Mummy / Career dilemma so well.

Having kids has completely changed the professional outlook I had.  I fall neatly into the ”career woman who earnt good money working long hours and taking work home then had kids and don’t ever want to return to my old career, but now at a crossroads” cliche.

I’ve also had a similar dilemma, how am I going to meet the two desires in my life – the desire to love and nurture my family and my desire to continually grow, achieve and improve for myself, particularly when I have no desire to return to the life or career I had before I had children?  Drawn Outdoors is my solution.  It will provide me with the ability to set the agenda and direction for my business, and give myself the opportunity to really satisfy my soul.

But the idea of living slower got me thinking.  How would I go without a mobile phone or computer for a day? I set myself a challenge, yes it was only a day, maybe I’ll try a whole weekend next time.  By the end of Sunday I’d kept strong, I hadn’t logged onto Facebook, checked my e-mail or looked at how many people had read my blog.  I didn’t surf the net for random, yet extremely useful pieces of trivia and I hadn’t sent a single text message.

I wasn’t any worse off.  I hadn’t lost anything, but had gained time to spend with the people who are important in my life.  True, we spent that time unpacking more of our mountain of stuff (which raised another question, how much stuff do we need?), but we spent it together unencumbered by the pressure technology places on our lives.

I know I’m old school in a lot of what I do and how I do it.  I cherish the hand made and home cooked, and I’m a dedicated hand drawer. There is a freedom in the link between hand and mind that I can’t recreate on a computer.  But having said that, I know I need to tech up with Drawn Outdoors to create efficiencies, to work smarter and to create more time to take it slow (oh the irony!).

At the end of Sunday I took some time out to chat with the Drama Queen about how life was when I was her age.  She was mystified with the concept that TV wasn’t always colour and that back then there was no ABC Kids.  The concept that there were no DVDs stumped her – “how did you watch movies?”  And the fact that there was no Thomas the Tank Engine, Wiggles, Woody and Buzz or Ariel was just horrifying.  When I told her that we did have Play School and Mickey Mouse she sighed and said “Oh thank goodness for that Mummy”.  It made me realise that what we consider hectic, for her will possibly be slow.

So from now I’m going to make sure we take the time to stop, look and breathe.  Slow down.  Slow food – from the source, made from scratch.  Smell the roses.  Enjoy nature.  Get our hands dirty.  Appreciate our environment.  Be Drawn Outdoors.

Sam

3 Responses to “The art of slow”

  1. Alison @ MelbourneMumma July 4, 2011 at 2:23 pm #

    A great post and thanks for linking to me! Lovely you have found a project for yourself. I started my blog partly to have something for me, a space to write. Based on all the feedback I received on that post, I was soon going to start a 30 day ‘simplicity’ project – will blog about it soon. Everyone’s comments in fact inspired ME to live more simply! Alison

    • drawnoutdoors July 4, 2011 at 2:39 pm #

      Thanks Alison, Can’t wait to read about your 30 day project!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Back to the books « drawnoutdoors - March 6, 2012

    […] talked about going slow before. You can refresh your memory here. The difference is that last time it was voluntary and this time it is an enforced […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 213 other followers

