Rain rain go away…no actually just p!$$ off.

22 Jul

I am over the rain.  I am soooo over the rain it’s not funny.  I go stir crazy when I’m stuck indoors, and I’m sure I have an undiagnosed case of Seasonal Affective Disorder (you know the one where you get really grumpy when it’s winter and there’s no sun).  So it’s winter, it has rained exactly 50% of the days since we moved to our new house (yes, I counted them) and I’m stir crazy and grumpy, maybe that’s why I’m not one of the Drama Queens favourite people at the moment (yes, she told me).

I’m guessing if you’re in Sydney you would be a little bit like me.  After years of drought where all we wanted was just a little bit of rain to turn our brown grass green, now all we want is a little bit of sun to turn our mud patches back into gardens.  Or just a chance to emerge from indoors and feel the sun on our faces.  I think we’re all a little water logged.

Just to put it into perspective, I heard on the radio today that this has been the wettest July in Sydney for 60 years, and we still have another 10 days to go.  60 years is a really long time, so I figure I’m not imagining it, it is really really wet.

I am a firm believer in getting out there and getting wet or dirty when the weather allows, but as we are now running out of clean clothes due to the lack of drying weather, it’s probably not the smartest thing to do.  Plus I don’t want to really add to the long list of winter ailments the Drama Queen has had to endure this year.  So this leaves us house bound and delving into the world of creativity to while away the wet hours.

Yesterday it was crayons and dress ups.

The Daredevil is not so sure about the wearing a dress thing

Today we’ve made a Silvermist skirt (for those of you not up with fairies, Silvermist is one of Tinkerbell’s friends) and we’re about to make some cup cakes.

The Drama Queen in her "Silvermist" skirt - the word on her door is just wishful thinking!

This would all be fantastic fun if I had have even had one hour of sleep last night, but thanks to a malfunctioning storm water pump Mr Perfect and I spent a very soggy night preventing our garage from flooding.  Once we had worked out a solution that didn’t require hauling buckets of water, I volunteered to do the night shift, he after all has to go to work and try and make some sense. This involved me trekking outside every hour or so and manually tripping the pump to empty the pit before it overflowed into the garage.

So after all this rain, I am itching to get stuck into our garden.  We planted the Drama Queen’s snow peas and broccoli on the weekend, but didn’t even get the chance to spread the sugar cane mulch around them before the latest downpour started.  Hopefully they don’t drown out there!  We did also start some new seeds – more snow peas and broccoli, plus some basil.  Theory says the rain should be good for them, but in reality it may just be too much.

So I beg of you, whoever flicked the torrential downpour switch, turn it off – we’ve had enough!

Sam

4 Responses to “Rain rain go away…no actually just p!$$ off.”

  1. Clair July 22, 2011 at 3:47 pm #

    Yes, I think everyone has the SADS. Zach has taken to sitting at the front window staring wistfully out with the occasional bout of frustrated crying.

    Good luck with that basil, I planted some seedlings 2 months ago and it hasn’t even grown 1cm in all that time. Broccoli is going great guns, though!

    • drawnoutdoors July 22, 2011 at 4:48 pm #

      AT the moment all her seeds need scuba gear, but hopefully they should be OK… Maybe when the weather warms up the basil might be better??!!??

  2. Mr Perfect July 22, 2011 at 4:44 pm #

    And a good nights sleep I had between 2:40am and 5:45am, then up again at 6:50am and then finally up at 8am. Don’t you just love a sleep in….
    How lucky am I that Ms DrawnOutdoors is so drawn outdoors that she actually volunteered to stand in the rain watching a pit fill to overflowing with water in the middle of the night.

    • Felicity July 22, 2011 at 5:02 pm #

      So lucky Mr Perfect i think it requires you going home with a large token of your good nights sleep and sleep-in for your beloved Ms DrawnOutdoors!!
      Im pretty sure i will hear otherwise and i may just stop by and say ‘Howdy’ sometime!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 213 other followers

