With genetics like this, I can’t go wrong

2 May

Today is a special day – it’s my grandmother’s birthday – Happy Birthday Nan!

I won’t tell you how old she is, she would hate for you to know, all I will say is that she is in her eighties, but looks like she’s still in her very early seventies or even her sixties – she is completely ageless.  She always told me she was 29 when I was growing up.  I’m sure that she was gutted the day that I turned around and proved, through my powers of primary school mathematical deduction, that she couldn’t have been 29, and in fact had to be much older.

This is one lady who has been an inspiration to me throughout my life.  She has done it tough, got through the hard way, but not once did she let this show.  She is now and always has been, in my mind a perfect family style icon.

Nan has achieved a lot, and I’m sure there’s more to come.

She’s a mother to three fabulous daughters

She’s a grandmother to eight

And a great grandmother to another 13

I am grateful to have had such a strong female role model in my life.  She doesn’t have a garden, and she doesn’t really design, but she has bestowed upon me both directly and through my fantastic mother a sense of style and an ability to look for the finer things in life.  Regardless of your budget, regardless of your place, it never hurts to be the best and look the best you can look.  I have learnt from her to always be the best I can be and to strive to make the world a more attractive place.

I have fabulous memories of helping her out in Casaropa – the fashion boutique she owned.  Ahead of her time and at the forefront of Australian fashion in the 1970′s and ’80′s she stocked Carla Zampatti, Jill Fitzsimons and Prue Acton amongst so many others.  Her boutique was listed in Australian Vogue, and was a shopping destination.  She dressed the whole family for weddings and both of my school formal dresses came from Casaropa.

The one thing I will always love about my gorgeous grandmother is her ability to speak her mind and stand her ground.  I think this comes from being the older sister to five younger brothers.   If she holds a belief it’s damn hard to shake her and she will stand by her convictions through thick and thin.  She holds those she loves close and her favourites even closer.

Happy birthday Nan, heres to many many more!

Sam

 

One Response to “With genetics like this, I can’t go wrong”

  1. Kate May 3, 2012 at 10:14 pm #

    Happy birthday from me, too. Though slightly late…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 213 other followers

