Garden Party for a Little Daredevil

8 May

The Daredevil is turning two.  A massive milestone for a little boy who likes to test the limits on life.  How high, far, fast can he go?  What is the acceptable dress code?  How loud can he be?  How much can you hug?  As he is our second child, he kind of gets a little bit forgotten in the celebration stakes.  It’s not intentional, but his second birthday is in less than two weeks and we still haven’t settled on what sort of party to hold for him and where!

I think we will have a garden party and hope that the weather produces a spectacular day with blue skies and bright sunshine, perfect autumn weather.  However, I am struggling to come up with ideas for how the party should look and feel.  The garden party image goes hand in hand with little girls, fairies and all things pretty and flowery.  How do I turn this around to suit my little Daredevil?  Mind you, he is not adverse to a spot of fancy fairy and princess dressing up, and can rock a pair of play high heels with the best of them, but he does also seem to get a thrill out of the more boyish pursuits of kicking balls and swinging bats.

I’ve posted before about the basics of a garden party – if you missed it, you can travel back through time here.  It’s not the basics I need for this one, I’m looking for a bit of inspiration for the details!

I’ve found some fantastic theme and styling ideas on the internet.

There were Safari themes – photo from http://www.tipjunkie.com

…and camp out themes photo from http://www.tipjunkie.com

But my favourite theme was this fantastic “That’s what little boys are made of” party styled by Lovely Like You located in Aukland NZ- perfect for a garden with it’s frogs and snails!

So much for the inspiration searching, I just need to get down to the business of doing…

Sam

4 Responses to “Garden Party for a Little Daredevil”

  1. PJ Girl May 9, 2012 at 5:40 am #

    What a lovely idea! I’m sure it will be fun whatever you do. Well done with the daily postings by the day… I’m so impressed with your blogging stamina!

    • drawnoutdoors May 9, 2012 at 10:45 pm #

      Thanks! I’m surprising myself with the blog a day, it’s starting to get a bit harder, but have a few pre prepared up my sleeve for when I hit the blog wall! Think a 2 year old party half way through the month might re-charge the batteries!

  2. Julie May 9, 2012 at 9:01 am #

    I think all your ideas are wonderful, I cannot wait to see what you decide. As usual I love reading the blog.

    Julie

    • drawnoutdoors May 9, 2012 at 10:43 pm #

      Thanks Julie! I can’t wait to see what I do either!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 213 other followers

