Climbing a mountain

15 May

I’m having a love / hate relationship with my post a day May idea.  I love writing my blog, I always have, but hate (well, probably not hate, but mild dislike) that I’ve tied myself to posting each day and thinking about what to post.  I’m sure that I’m going to be extremely proud when I’ve achieved the goal, but for now I’m starting to struggle a little.  It’s starting to feel a little bit like an uphill hike.  You start out fresh, excited, ready conquer the peak, but as the trek wears on your breath shortens, you need more  breaks and it feels like you’ll never make it.  The good news is I’m half way, so to mark the half way point I thought I’d show you my favourite mountains. Theoretically, the rest is downhill!

The weather in Sydney has been pretty chilly this week, apparently they’re starting to get their first snow down in the Mountains.  OK, so we’re in Australia and we don’t have really impressive mountains.  On a global scale they’re more like hills, and the fact that we get excited about skiing these tiny mountains with the smear of snow that we get is a bit comical to those of you who are more enhanced in the alpine stakes, but we love them.  The Snowy Mountains National Park which contains Australia’s highest peak – Mt Kosciuszko, is a fragile Australian Alpine ecosystem.  The Australian high country is characterised by the Snowy Gum which helps to give it it’s unique character.  It’s an area that I find extremely calm and peaceful whether it is covered in snow or spring wild flowers.

Hope you enjoy my downhill slide!  Hopefully we will get to take the Drama Queen and Daredevil to see their first snow this year.

Sam

Photos from Drawn Outdoors, http://www.godadgo.com.au and http://www.boardworld.com.au

3 Responses to “Climbing a mountain”

  1. PJ Girl May 16, 2012 at 5:30 am #

    Half way there and you’re doing so well! I find it a challenge to post once a week at times so keep up the good work as I feel that each time I visit you I’m a little closer to Australia!

    • drawnoutdoors May 20, 2012 at 9:12 pm #

      I’m glad I can bring you closer to Aus, we’re so far away down here. I’m normally the same, one or two posts a week is my all I could manage, but a challenge is a challenge, and I’m surprising myself…so far!

  2. Megan May 16, 2012 at 8:16 am #

    This blog gave me flashbacks! Good ones!!! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 213 other followers

