Going to my happy place

20 May

Doesn’t everyone have a happy place?  The place that you go, whether it be a physical or more metaphorical, when you’re not really feeling the happy vibe.  When you want  to pick up those failing spirits, or when you just want a happiness boost.  Sometimes you just have to close your eyes and go to your happy place.  I’m loving joining in the Seven Cherubs Happy Days in May Project, but thought I’d switch it around just a little this week.  I’ve concentrated my happiness sentences on the happy places that I visited this week.  In this instance the happy places are physical, though they definitely did have an emotional effect.

This is part three in the Happy Days in May series, you can check out part one here and part two here if you want to catch up on the happiness goodness, and with a couple more parts to come, it really has helped make a happy May around our place.

14 May 2012 – In all the party planning pandemonium I took the opportunity to visit Spotlight to collect some “essential” supplies for the party, I also managed to do a little bit of other looking too!

15 May 2012 – Headed over to Haberfield to catch up for coffee, great coffee, great company and lots of fun with the Daredevil and his new “friend” in the park.

16 May 2012 – Ordered balloons at the party shop – how can a party shop not be a happy place???

17 May 2012 – With Mr Perfect taking a day off work, I got to go to the supermarket alone!  Not normally an exceptionally happy place, but this time a tranquil haven of happiness without two munchkins sneaking contraband into the trolley or running away.

18 May 2012 – A trip over to Surry Hills with the Daredevil to see the doctor is a trip down childhood memory lane, plus a brush with fame as I park behind Hugo Weaving (mmmmm….)

19 May 2012 – We don’t have to travel far to find a happy place today as the party comes to our home - perfect people, weather and location!

20 May 2012 – A walk through The Rocks to get to Walsh Bay for the Sydney Writers Festival – inspiring talk and buzzing atmosphere, but more about that tomorrow!

I do have to admit that sometimes I do feel like my happy place is a little bit like this….

… though fortunately not very often!

Where was your happy place this week?

Sam

5 Responses to “Going to my happy place”

  1. Emily May 21, 2012 at 2:37 am #

    I have two places that make me feel truly content, peaceful, and calm. One is in my home state (and 6 hours away, so unfortunately I don’t get to go there very often). It is a park on a small island in the bay, the shores are very rocky, but if you’re willing to explore there are lots of little quiet niches to sit in with a book on a sunny day. My other favorite place is in my new town, on a nature trail that used to be a railroad track, there is a beautiful stream. I could sit for hours dangling my feet in the cool water.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A Few of my Favorite Places | A Happier Emily - May 22, 2012

    [...] that bring about overwhelming sense of peace, calm, and joy– after reading this post about Going to a Happy Place.  (A big  thanks to Drawnoutdoors for the [...]

  2. Does kindness = happiness? « drawnoutdoors - May 27, 2012

    [...] Now for my Happy Days in May update.  If you want to catch up on the last couple of weeks, you can see post 1 here, post 2 here and post 3 here. [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 213 other followers

