Pages – Kitchen Gardens of Australia

23 May

I have been looking for inspiration in the form of kitchen gardens. I have a client who is planning to renovate and create a conservatory kitchen which will open onto a kitchen garden space. While most of my research is done on the internet, I also spend a bit of time in the local library. There’s nothing like turning the pages of real books. I love the small sense of anticipation as you open the cover of a new book, hoping that it lives up to it’s promise delivered in the cover.

20120523-201354.jpg

I found this gem of a book today at the library. Kitchen Gardens of Australia by Kate Herd profiles 18 productive gardens throughout Australia. The profiles include plans, photos, interviews with the gardeners and hints and tips learnt from each garden.

20120523-201944.jpg

20120523-202112.jpg

I love that the garden profiles tell the story of the garden and the gardeners as well as providing the more technical specifications. The photographs by Simon Griffiths are inspiring and showcase the gardens perfectly.

20120523-202519.jpg

I’ve only had a chance to have a quick
Look and to read one garden profile, but I already know that this is a book I would love to add to my library. There are so many lessons to learn from these gardens and design ideas to adapt into future garden designs.

Hint hint for Christmas Mr Perfect!!

Sam

3 Responses to “Pages – Kitchen Gardens of Australia”

  1. Sharon May 23, 2012 at 9:37 pm #

    Don’t know how much success I’ll have looking for this book in the States, but I’m going to give it a shot. Looks great! I love gardens that are a mix of the useful and beautiful…

    • drawnoutdoors May 23, 2012 at 10:05 pm #

      Good luck, it’s worth the search. Thanks for dropping by.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My Morning in the Kitchen Garden in Pictures | A HEALTHY LIFE - May 30, 2012

    […] Pages – Kitchen Gardens of Australia (drawnoutdoors.wordpress.com) Share this:Like this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 213 other followers

