1000 things in winter

30 May

We have too much stuff.  At least that’s what Mr Perfect thinks.  The Drama Queen can’t get enough stuff, the Daredevil is just happy to get any stuff, and I think maybe we do have too much, but I’m also a bit too sentimental when it comes to stuff.  With a little inspiration from Minimalist Living and his great post about The Summer of 1000 Things Challenge, we have decided that we will hold an in house competition to de-stuff a bit.  We’ve had to re-word a little bit, after all we are “down under” so it’s the WINTER of 1000 things.  We’ve also added another level of difficulty, teamed up and challenged ourselves to 1000 things each – it’s boys versus girls, so the first to 1000 wins.  The Drama Queen and I think we have it in the bag, after all we do have the most stuff to get rid of!

I’ve enlisted a bit of help from the team at  Did You Remember the Milk, I’ve written about them before, here.  Brigitte has just released a new e-book – The Biggest Tosser, so the Drama Queen and I will be implementing their expert advice in our de-stuffing quest.  It is “The 7 step guide to a bigger life with less stuff.” Sounds perfect for us, particularly since the claim is that they “do the bossing and you do the tossing”.  I think the girls might need a little bit of hard love along the way.

Part of my rationale for embarking on this challenge is a bit of re-education for the Drama Queen.  As the first child, first grandchild, and more importantly the only girl child in our family, she’s been just a little bit spoilt.  I know I’m guilty of it, Mr Perfect’s guilty of it, and particularly Nanna is guilty of it!  But the Drama Queen generally gets what the Drama Queen wants, and as a result she doesn’t always really value what she has.  She appreciates her stuff, she doesn’t like to part with any of it, but she has a constant quest to get more and more. Now she’s getting a little bit older it’s time for her to work out what is really important and how to let go of stuff you don’t need any more.  Lets face it, I don’t want to see her on an episode of hoarders in 30 years time still holding onto her 30 My Little Ponies because she didn’t learn it was OK to let go sometimes.

The other lesson we will need to teach is how to get rid of the stuff with a little bit of eco-cred.  I don’t want to just toss everything, that’s way too environmentally evil for my liking, so there will be a lot of donating, re-homing and maybe a market stall at the end of winter.

As much as Mr Perfect would love our house to look like this, I don’t think it’s quite us, but we can come closer…

 

The good news is that the Drama Queen has started stockpiling stuff ready for the 1st of June when the competition begins.  It’s not much but it’s a start.  Anyone feel like joining us?

Sam

4 Responses to “1000 things in winter”

  1. Emily May 31, 2012 at 3:33 am #

    Seems like a good challenge!

    I have been starting to think about de-cluttering my space as well. It’s on my to-do list for June. I tend to be very sentimental about things and have lots of small collections. But all those things can get out of control sometimes-and- I can never focus in a cluttered environment. I want to really de-clutter and only keep the things that have a purpose, a place, or real sentimental value. Everything else is going to get donated or recycled or trashed depending on it’s condition.

    I’ll be rooting for Team Girls :)

    • drawnoutdoors June 1, 2012 at 9:23 pm #

      Good luck with your de-clurttering – we started this morning, an team girls has reached a huge 8 items, to the boys nil! Thank goodness we have a whole 3 months to go!

  2. Katie June 3, 2012 at 10:54 pm #

    Wow, 1000 things is a great target, good luck with getting there, hope your children get in board too, would be a great lesson for them to learn.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Watch out UFOs about! « drawnoutdoors - July 2, 2012

    [...] the guilt feeling I get when I don’t achieve a goal and too many people know about it.  Our 1000 things in winter is coming along fabulously, the girls are a third of the way there – Yay girls!  And my 31 [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 213 other followers

