I have a little confession to make…

9 May

Yes, I have a little confession to make… I’m a landscape architect without a green thumb, in fact on evidence to date my thumb appears to be incredibly brown.  I’ve never had a garden to create and love, and any pot plant that managed to find its way to our very hot north facing balcony was on a fast track to pot plant heaven.

Don’t get me wrong, I have the know how, I’m just not so good at remembering the little details like water.  I can design and document, detail and specify with the best of them, but when it comes down to getting my hands dirty and loving my little seedlings, I just get a bit negligent.  I always have the best intentions, but after a few good weeks or months, the novelty wears off, out of sight is out of mind and the poor petals wilt.

So, now is the time to put on my gardening gloves and put my money where my mouth is, and create my own little piece of garden utopia.  And when I say little, I mean little.  We have just moved from our gorgeous, but rented, apartment with fantastic maintained common areas, to a villa with a small and very neglected courtyard.

Garden 7 May 2011

Our new "garden" before the love

As you can see I have my work cut out for me, but I have a blank canvas and it’s so exciting!  Where do I start and where will I end up?

X Sam

8 Responses to “I have a little confession to make…”

  1. Bec May 9, 2011 at 3:16 pm #

    Looking great Sam! Can’t wait to see how beautiful you can make your new backyard.

  2. Carolyn May 10, 2011 at 6:44 pm #

    Go for it Sam….a bit of rubber softfall and you can be done!! Looking forward to you create great things as usual!

  3. toldyah May 10, 2011 at 8:58 pm #

    hehe – love it hun – keep up the good work!

  4. Elissa May 11, 2011 at 9:10 am #

    Cant wait to see what your green thumb gets round to designing!

  5. Clair May 11, 2011 at 2:31 pm #

    It is going to be a tough task to create a beautiful garden that is also hardy enough to survive the roamings of 2 toddlers!! I am very sure it will be lovely, though, and your 2 small sidekicks can take care of the watering for you 🙂

  6. toldyah May 13, 2011 at 8:02 pm #

    have put ur link on my links page and will blog ur link tomorrow in next blog!

    • drawnoutdoors May 13, 2011 at 11:08 pm #

      Thanks! Am just about to finish my blog for today with a few Biz Babes surprises! Think I’m starting to get the hang of this – now I need to set up some other pages!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Woo Hoo! One year old today « drawnoutdoors - May 9, 2012

    […] I sat down at this computer desk, at a very similar looking but different computer and tapped out my first blog post.  Drawn Outdoors the blog was […]

Leave a Reply

