Gone bush…

23 May

Well, no, not really, just going out the back.  Our new house backs onto a bushland reserve and the Drama Queen has been itching to go for a bush walk. Finally we managed to hit the perfect weather and health day, so while the Daredevil slept and Mr Perfect caught up with the news, the Drama Queen and I headed out to commune with our little piece of nature.  It was a gorgeous way to spend Sunday morning after an emotional day before.

The Drama Queen strutting her bush walking stuff!

On Saturday we said goodbye to my wonderful Pop.  I’m sure he’d decided that his mind was giving up on him, now his body was following suit, and therefore it was time to bid farewell to this party and check out what was going on over the fence.  It’s never any fun when the party’s gone stale and he knew, as all good party people do, when it was time to make his exit.

He’s left a gap that will be impossible to fill, and a lot of people who will miss him.  When someone dies, some people think that something dies within you too, that a hole is left that will never be filled.  I believe the opposite, I believe when someone leaves us they leave a little piece of themselves behind, that you gain some insight, that the world starts to look a little different and that you might find and take some opportunities that might not have otherwise been seen.

What might Pop send my way, and what has he got in store for the rest of us?  If I know my Pop, and I think I do, there will be no grief, but there will be fond memories, love and laughter.  There will be no sitting around, no idle hours.  We will be cramming our days full of jobs, little and big, taking trips away and helping out a mate.  Most importantly, we will be making the most of family.  I think this is a lesson Pop learnt himself, possibly the hard way, but it’s one that he has made easy for us, his grandkids.

When, on Saturday night I started trawling through the box of photos my family has accumulated over many many years I could only giggle and smile at the images I found and the memories that went along side them.  My favourite photo that I found was of Pop, my sister and I on a bush walk, framed off centre so you could see the fabulous view.  My Pop was an outdoors kind of guy, a bushies heart in a city body, and this is how I’ll always remember him, outside, at the beach, in the bush or cracking his whip in the backyard.

Such a '70's look! I'm the babe styling it on the left.

I only hope that he’s left behind his green thumb, ’cause I know I’m going to need it!

Sam

3 Responses to “Gone bush…”

  1. Julie Valenti May 24, 2011 at 7:44 am #

    A wonderful tale and I hope I can have the same outlook when saying goodbye to someone. You make me want to go outdoors and normally I am not that person.

    Great blog

    Julie

  2. Fi May 24, 2011 at 1:41 pm #

    Love your blog Sam and super excited about the steady transformation of our garden. It’s going to look fantastic thanks to your vision. I can’t wait for Miss Mischief to be “drawn outdoors”. Thinking of you and your family this week.

Leave a Reply

