Spring, it’s so close I can smell it.

10 Aug

I feel like I’m starting to thaw, that my little soul is starting to sprout little green shoots ready to spread in spring.  I’m not a winter person, and would much prefer to bunker down in June and re-emerge after a winter hibernation at the end of August to watch the flowers bloom and the bright green new growth sprouting.  Now that we are finally at the green and flowery end of winter I can feel the crankys lifting and my step is getting a little lighter, and there’s definitely a fresher, lighter smell in the air.

We haven’t had a great winter in Sydney, and health wise we have suffered EVERY winter kiddie illness you can think of, The Daredevil is currently on antibiotics for a particularly nasty ear infection.  The first few signs of spring emerging have been a welcome change.

Mr Perfect had a day off on Monday, and it was a beautiful late winter day.  The sun was shining, the skies were blue.  It was t-shirt weather.  The last few days that he has had off we’ve spent organising, unpacking, tidying and sorting – not something that is incredibly exciting or enjoyable, but I was expecting a bit of the same on Monday.  I was pleasantly surprised when he headed down to the garage, fished out the baby backpack and suggested a walk through the bushland behind our place.

Mr Perfect and the Daredevil on our bushwalk

It was soul warming.  Mr Perfect hadn’t ventured out for a bushwalk before, the rain had hampered any attempt he had made.  He enjoyed it despite opting for the short way home (I think the backpack may have outstayed its welcome!).  I think there will be a few more bushwalking forays, how can we miss the opportunity when it’s on our back doorstep?

The best bit – the wildflowers are starting to bloom – a sure sign that the thaw is on.

Only 3 weeks until spring and I can’t wait!

Sam

2 Responses to “Spring, it’s so close I can smell it.”

  1. Linda Barnes August 11, 2011 at 9:16 am #

    Hi Sam,

    I totally agree…. I hate Winter with a passion.. Can’t wait for summer bring it on…..

    • drawnoutdoors August 11, 2011 at 10:45 am #

      Mmmm… just thinking about the beach, totally a summer girl!

Leave a Reply

