There are fairies in my garden

27 Jan

20120127-131613.jpg

How do you entertain a 4 year old who can only use the thumb and forefinger on one hand? This is my current dilemma. The Drama Queen (who currently has cause to live up to her name) and I have temporarily set up residence at the Sydney Children’s Hospital while we eradicate the nasty infection she has picked up on the fingers of her right hand. Not much fun for a 4 year old or her Mum, but the opportunity to be a little creative and dream up some new ways to whittle away the hours. I have to admit that I’m glad it’s not the Daredevil that’s tied to the hospital bed, he would be climbing the walls and I think I might be curled up in the corner…

The Children’s Hospital has created an amazing environment for their small patients, and we’re really lucky to have a view over the magical space that is the fairy garden. From the Drama Queens window we can see Snow White, a couple of Dwarves and a few toadstools and twinkling lights. Unfortunately, due to the rain, and the fact that she’s in isolation, we can’t venture down there, only imagine and make up fairy stories.

20120127-125831.jpg

I’ve started doing a little bit of research for a future blog post about what makes a great healing garden. So many hospitals are now incorporating interesting design for their outdoors spaces to encourage patients to step outside and find a calm place to enjoy while they’re confined and probably a little bit worse for wear. It’s a way designers seem to be using their powers for good.

For now we’re hoping to escape from here some time soon so we can get back to life as we know it. But I have never been so grateful as I have been to a single piece of technology. Our iPad has not only kept a little girl entertained for hours, but kept her mum sane and in touch with the outside world, it’s forgiven for eating my blog post!

Sam

One Response to “There are fairies in my garden”

  1. Clair January 27, 2012 at 1:21 pm #

    Poor Em. I have been thinking of her, and you guys. That garden looks really lovely! Glad she has a nice view 🙂

Leave a Reply

