Happy New Year

1 Jan

Wow, 2014 crept up pretty quickly. I wasn’t really expecting to be watching fireworks and sipping bubbles quite this soon, but there we were last night, with the rest of Sydney sitting by the harbour, picnicking and bathing in the spectacular fireworks that Sydney New Years Eve is famous for.

Sydney celebrates New Years Eve exceptionally well. Take one of the worlds prettiest harbour cities, add gorgeous summer weather (except for the 10 minute freak rain shower) and top it off with one of the world’s best fireworks display, and you have a Sydney New Years Eve.

If you don’t have a party to go to, if you forget to plan something huge, then all you need to do in Sydney is head on down to the harbour foreshore. With around 2 million partygoers lining the harbour’s edge, every vantage point becomes a huge multicultural communal celebration farewelling the old and welcoming the new.

When all the fun and games are over, it’s a great time to think and take stock about the year that was, and the year that will be. I love making resolutions, I’m generally not so great at keeping them, but my heart is in the right place. This year I’ve decided to keep it simple, just three resolutions that are hopefully very easy to keep. I’m thinking of them in a purely selfish way, something for my mind – blog more (not hard given 2013’s very ordinary effort), something for my heart – reach out and contact old friends, organise those catch ups and basically see more of people, and something for my body and soul – get out into nature and visit as many National Parks as I can (I would love to visit all of the National Parks in NSW one day). While they are resolutions that are purely for my own improvement, they are also definitely things that I can and will share.

20140101-225040.jpg

Most importantly I hope that 2014 brings laughter, love and happy memories. Cheers to the new year!
Sam

4 Responses to “Happy New Year”

  1. juliecrombe January 1, 2014 at 11:54 pm #

    I follow lots of people from Australia on instagram and love the way they celebrate NYE. I love your quote too! And your blog is wonderful! Keep up the good work and happy 2014!

    • drawnoutdoors January 2, 2014 at 8:21 am #

      Thanks for dropping by! Have a great 2014 filled with lots of fabulous blogging!!

      • juliecrombe January 2, 2014 at 8:35 am #

        Thanks for your sweet wishes! We should keep up on each other’s stories by following each other! šŸ™‚

  2. drawnoutdoors January 3, 2014 at 1:29 pm #

    Definitely!!

Leave a Reply

